Gouvernement du Québec


Restore text sizeIncrease text size

History of the Premiership

The Premiership began with Confederation, in 1867, further to signing of the British North America Act (BNA Act). The Premier is the head of the executive branch of government. Our democratic system also includes legislative powers (Parliament, or National Assembly of Québec, with 125 elected Members or MNAs) and judicial powers (justice system).

The following links open in another window.

Premiers since 1867


Last update: April 23, 2014
Online as of: September 18, 2006

Accessibility   |   Privacy Policy   |   Copyrights

Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2018